Hi, parents and students of Mrs. McBride's fourth grade class!  I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce myself to those of you I haven't met.  My name is Sarah Standridge, and I am a teaching intern from the Master of Arts in Teaching program at UCA.  Mrs. McBride has been kind enough to bring me in to her wonderful class from now until the end of April and give me the behind the scenes scoop about how to be a fabulous teacher like her.  I am having a great experience and learning so much!

I may not look like your average student teacher when you meet me, since I'm older.  I have two kids, ages 13 and 8, and I stayed home with them for most of their early years.  I have a degree in English so I love teaching reading and writing, and I have volunteered and worked part-time in education throughout the years.  I am getting to know all of the children in the class, and I am so impressed.  They are all amazing in their own unique ways, and I am learning a lot from them as well as from Mrs. McBride.

I hope to get a chance to meet all of you soon, and I look forward to continuing to work with Mrs. McBride and your impressive children!
Lily
2/10/2013 07:44:42 am

I think that you are such a great student teacher. I love that you do really fun activities. I think that you are going to be a great TEACHER someday! I guess I should tell you a little about me. I am 9 years old right now. My birthday is on April 29. When I grow up I want to open up this school with my friend Annie F. We are going to start training this year with Mr. Spencer around March. My favorite color is BLUE!!! I am the oldest out of all my sisters and the 2nd oldest out of all my cousins. My mom's name is Emily and my dad's name is Gibson. That is some information about me. If you have any questions just ask me! Thanks!

Reply
Ms. Standridge
2/11/2013 12:19:30 am

Hi Lily! Thank you so much for your sweet message! I am so happy that you think I'm going to be a good teacher. I love working with your class and doing fun activities.

Thanks for sharing some information about yourself. We have some things in common. I am also the oldest of my sisters (I have two) and my favorite color is also blue! I am excited to hear more about the school that you and Annie F. plan to open. Please tell me about it.

It was fun seeing you at Barnes and Noble yesterday...I could tell you were surprised to see me! Maybe we also share a love of books! :)

Sincerely,
Ms. Standridge

Reply
Lily
2/20/2013 07:23:04 am

I also have 2 sisters too!

Reply
Surabhee
2/14/2013 12:21:05 pm

Hello Mrs. Standridge! You are an awesome student teacher! If there is an opening for a teacher, please get the job! If you get one at Roberts, I will get to see you more often!
I want you to know some things about me before you leave. I am nine years old (almost ten). My birthday is March 3. I am the oldest and I have a little sister.
If you have any quetions, just ask me.I hope you get a job here!Good luck on being a teacher!


Sincerely,
Surabhee

Reply
Ms. Standridge
2/18/2013 03:37:02 am

Hi Surabhee! Thank you for writing to me and telling me more about yourself. I'd like to hear more about your little sister. Your birthday is coming up very soon...how exciting! I met your parents today at the parent-teacher conference, and they were very sweet and smart. I can see how you turned out so well!

I would love to get a job here at Roberts if they have an opening for next year. I might have to ask you to tell them good things about me so they will hire me!

Thanks again for writing. See you at school tomorrow!

Reply
Annie F
2/25/2013 09:58:28 am

You are the best student teacher ever Ms. Standridge! I know that lately we have been having lots of subs for our teacher. I like that you don't think that it is an oppertunity to have a day off. You still teach some lessons and make it seem more like a normal day. I love how you teach us so much about other subjects and really help us understand what we are talking about. You might want to know a little more about me. I am 10 years old. My birthday is January 14. I have a little brother and a pet dog. I love the arts. I sing and dance. I also do acting. Earlier this year I was in a play and the whole class came to see it! The play was at AACCT. Arkansas Arts Center Children's Theater is what that stands for. It was a great adventure! If you have any questions please ask me!

Reply
Ms. Standridge
5/9/2013 12:41:00 pm

Hi Annie!

I just saw this post! Sorry it took me so long! I miss you very much, and I'm so glad that I had the chance to be your student teacher and get to know you. Thank you for telling me a little more about you. You have accomplished a lot for such a young age - I'm impressed! I hope I can see you act in a play, sing, or dance one of these days. I know you are an incredible student. Take care and tell everyone I said hello!

Love,
Ms. Standridge

Reply
Devanshika
5/11/2013 09:14:20 am

i miss you soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much you have to come to our classroom!

Reply
Tierani
6/30/2013 01:13:13 pm

you were so awesome and i wish i was at class again because im about to move its realy sad.TeLeah cried.

Reply
Ms. Standridge
7/1/2013 11:49:00 am

Hi Devanshika and Tierani,

It's such a nice surprise to see that you wrote to me! I miss you girls a lot! I guess that both of you will be moving this summer. :-( Don't worry, I know that you'll do great in your new schools! It will be hard to find another teacher as good as Ms. McBride, but stay positive and keep working hard and you'll be fine. My time with your class was so special to me, and I'll always remember all of you fondly!

Love,
Ms. Standridge

Reply



Leave a Reply.